Road Theatre Stage Scene LA Scenie Awards 2015-16



The Year’s Best Intimate Theaters

The Road Theatre Company

The Year’s Best World Premiere Plays

John is a Father

The Year’s Best Performances (Play)

Sam Anderson in JIAF

Breakthrough Star of the Year

Ben Theobald in Broken Fences & Double Door

Director of the Year

Michael Matthews — Booty Candy, Dream Boy, Homefree, Sister Act

Costume Designer of the Year

Michele Young

Lighting Designer of the Year

Tom Ontiveros

Scenic Designer of the Year

John Iacovelli

Properties Designer of the Year

Michael O’Hara

Outstanding production, drama (intimate theater)

John is a Father

Star- Making Performance (play)

Barret Lewis- Homefree

Outstanding Performance by an actor in a leading role- drama (intimate theater)

Chet Grissom – Birder

Outstanding Performance by an actress in a leading role- drama (intimate theater)

Laurie Okin – Birder

Oustanding Performance by an actor in a featured role- drama (intimate theater)

Mark Costello – John is a Father
John Gowans – John is a Father
Carl J. Johnson – John is a Father
Bruce A. Lemon Jr. – Broken Fences

Outstanding Performance by an actress in a featured role- drama (intimate theater)

Donna Simone Johnson – Broken Fences
Hilary J. Schwartz- John is a Father

Outstanding Ensemble Cast Performance- Drama (intimate theater)

Crash Buist, Chet Grissom, Monique Marie Gelineau, Laurie Okin & Webster Williams – Birder
Mia Fraboni, Kris Frost, James Holloway, Donna Simone Johnson, Ivy Khan, Bruce A. Lemon Jr., Coronado Romero, & Ben Theobald – Broken Fences
Steve Apostolina, Chelsea Averil, Lockne O’Brien, Barret Lewis, Elizabeth Herron, Gabriela Ortega, & Donald Russell – Homefree

Outstanding Ensemble Cast Performance- Comedy (intimate theater)

Blaire Chandler, Michael Dempsey, Dirk Etchinson, Arielle Fodor, Kevin Shipp, & Hannah Mae Sturges – The Mongoose

Outstanding Direction (multiple productions)

Dan Bonnell – Birder, John is a Father

Outstanding Direction, Drama (Intimate Theater)

Andre Barron – Broken Fences

Outstanding Production Design (intimate theater)

Broken Fences

Outstanding Lighting Designer

Derrick McDaniel

Outstanding Scenic Designer

JR Bruce
Tom Buderwitz

Outstanding Sound Designer

David B. Marling
Joseph “Sloe” Slawinski